T20 Global League 2017

Schedule, Teams and Players

CSA Unveiled T20 Global League Franchise Owners

Today CSA unveiled franchise owners of the upcoming twenty20 tournament T20 Global League (T20GL) starting this year in November. It was a big day in Cricket South Africa history because today they officially started the T20GL process by announcing the owners pf teams.

CSA Unveiled T20 Global League Franchise Owners

CSA Unveiled T20 Global League Franchise Owners

There are total 8 teams participating in the T20 Global league starting in November. Today in a big event in London, England, Cricket South Africa announced the T20 Global host cities, owners and marquee Proteas players.

T20 Global League Franchises

Below you will find all the details of the T20 Global League franchise owners, marquee players and home stadiums:


Owner: Fawad Rana
Proteas marquee player: Hashim Amla
Stadium: Kingsmead Cricket Stadium

Fawad Rana is MD QALCO and also own Lahore Qalandars team in Pakistan Super League.


Owner: Javed Afridi
Proteas marquee player: Quinton de Kock
Stadium: Willowmoore Park

Javed Afridi is CEO of Haier Pakistan and also the owner of PSL team Peshawar Zalmi.


Owner: Osman Osman
Proteas marquee player: AB de Villiers
Stadium: Centurion Park

Osman Osman is a businessman and owner of Blu Blood entertainment company.


Owner: Mustaq Grey
Proteas marquee player: Faf du Plessis
Stadium: Boland Park

Mushtaq Brey, who owns Brimstone bought Stellenbosch team today.

Cape Town

Owner: Shah Rukh Khan
Proteas marquee player: JP Duminy
Stadium: Newlands Cricket Stadium

Shah Rukh Khan aka King of Bollywood own two other team in big league; Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL and Trinbago Knight Riders in CPL.


Owner: Sushil Kumar
Proteas marquee player: David Miller
Stadium: Mangaung Oval

Sushil Kumar, a businessman from Hong Kong purchased a franchise team Bloemfontein, which he never visited.


Owner: GMR Sports (Delhi Daredevils)
Proteas marquee player: Kagiso Rabada
Stadium:  The Wanderers

The GMR Group purchased Johannesburg, this group already own Delhi Daredevils in Indian Premier League.

Port Elizabeth

Owner: Ajay Sethi
Proteas marquee player: Imran Tahir
Stadium: St George’s Park

You can find more detail on CSA official website. Below is the complete video of today’s session of T20 Global League held in London, England:

CSA president Chris Nenzani said:

“Competition was stiff, with more than 150 Expressions of Interest (EOI) received from around the world, and a shortlist of heavy hitters to consider, but after rigorous discussions and engagement with each of the potential owners, we are certain that our final eight owners have the perfect combination of strategic insight and passion needed to make the first T20 Global League a complete success.”

South African T20 Global League teams are being purchased by owners of IPL and PSL franchises. It will be a PSL vs IPL. Here is the t20 global league franchises owners list:

  • GMR Sports
  • Fawad Rana
  • Ajay Sethi
  • Javed Afridi
  • Shah Rukh Khan
  • Osama Osama
  • Sushil Kumar
  • Mustaq Grey
Updated: August 31, 2017 — 10:51 am
T20 Global League 2017 © 2017