T20 Global League 2017

Schedule, Teams and Players

South Africa T20 Global League Players Draft 2017

Information related to South Africa T20 Global League players draft 2017 will be updated here. The first edition of T20GL SA is going to start in November and the players in it will be selected by Draft selection system, similar to the one used in IPL, CPL and Pakistan Super League. CSA announced that Global T20 League draft will be on 19th August 2017.

Best thing about selection of players by draft system, it allows the fair distribution of good players in all the teams. Till now we haven’t heard anything on auction of players, so we are considering that there will be no auction of players in T20 Global League. All the players will be selected through draft.

South Africa T20 Global League Players Draft 2017

Processing of South Africa T20 Global League Players Draft 2017

The players who are interested in playing T20 global league will be a part of a draft system and there will be a price band associated with each player. First there will be draft of top rated players or players who are highly valuable. First draft will be followed by second, third and fourth draft and players will be categorized accordingly.

Draft system allows the equal distribution of players in all the teams. This is draft system works, if Team A gets the first turn to pick a player in first round, they would get last turn in the second round to pick their 2nd player in T20 global league draft 2017. This process will continue until all teams fill their squad with required number of players.

Current T20GL Squads

Currently Cricket South Africa has only announced eight local and international marquee players list, who have signed up for the first edition of T20 Global League 2017 and the list include following players: Chris Gayle, Kevin Pietersen, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Brendon McCullum, Lasith Malinga, Eoin Morgan and Jason Roy, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, Hashim Amla, Kagiso Rabada Quinton de Kock, Imran Tahir, JP Duminy, and David Miller. One international and one local player will be a part of a team, so all these players will be divided into eight T20GL teams.

Allocation of South African marquee players has already been made and here are its details:

  • Benoni – Quinton de Kock
  • Bloemfontein – David Miller
  • Cape Town – JP Duminy
  • Durban – Hashim Amla
  • Johannesburg – Kagiso Rabada
  • Port Elizabeth – Imran Tahir
  • Pretoria – AB de Villiers
  • Stellenbosch – Faf du Plessis

Before the t20gl main draft, there will be a mini draft of eight international marquee players, and all the players will be adjusted in teams. The contract between the overseas marquee players and franchise will be for couple of years and after that they can switch teams.

For now, Cricket South Africa have announced only eight teams which may increase in the next editions of the tournament. Teams included in first edition of t20 global league are: Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Johannesburg, Durban, Bloemfontein, Port Elizabeth, Pretoria and Benoni.

Check the schedule of t20 global league 2017

Cricket South Africa have already announced the franchise owners of eight teams in T20GL. According to the news more than 400 players from different countries showed their interest to participate in Global T20 League. The South Africa T20GL draft will be on August 19, 2017.

Updated: July 20, 2017 — 4:02 pm
T20 Global League 2017 © 2017