T20 Global League 2017

Schedule, Teams and Players

T20 Global League, Teams, Schedule and Players

Cricket South Africa announced to start a new Twenty20 cricket league named T20 Global League. Here we will provide you guys will all information about t20 global league, teams, schedule and players. It will be a Round-robin cricket tournament and expected to start in the end of 2017.

T20 Global League, Teams, Schedule and Players

What is T20 Global League?

T20 Global League is a South African twenty20 cricket league like IPL, PSL and CPL. The tournament will be held in South Africa in the fourth quarter of 2017 (Expected in November). Eight privately owned teams will participate in the league consisting of local and overseas international players. Cricket South Africa is working on it to generate interest of people and making season 1 of the tournament successful.

T20 Global League was previously named as T20 Global Destination League but later on its named was shortened. Till last update, CSA received more than 160 applications of people who are interested to buy a franchise. But candidates will be selected according to the defined process.

Image Source

CSA President, Chris Nenzani said:

“It is our duty as Cricket South Africa to safeguard the future of the game. By backing a high-value tournament like the new T20 Global League, and investing in synergistic partnerships with key stakeholders, the T20 Global League is perfectly positioned to become an internationally successful sporting event.”

CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat added:

“Fans can look forward to epic game experiences, complimented by action-packed stadiums, big entertainment, top class broadcasters and accessible ticket prices. We can firmly say that the era of ‘sportainment’ has dawned upon us. It’s now South Africa’s time to capitalise while reigniting and celebrating our love for the game.”

South African players are happy and gave positive remarks about Global T20 League.

JP Duminy said:

“It’s appealing, fresh and energetic”

Below is the video of launching ceremony of T20 Global League:

Source – Cricket South Africa

T20 Global League Franchises

There will be 8 team franchises in the tournament based on cities in South Africa. CSA will announce eight franchise owners of the global t20 league on June 19, 2017 in London. Official logo of the league is out and received appreciation from the Porteas players in UK playing champions trophy.

T20 Global League Logo

T20 Global League Logo

Image Source

T20 Global League Schedule

Schedule of 2017 T20 Global League isn’t announced yet but it’s expected that the tournament will kick-off in the last quarter of 2017.

T20 Global League Teams

There will be 8 teams participating in Global t20 league. Names of teams are not announced yet. We will update you if there is any news related to it.

T20 Global League Venues

All internationally recognized venues in South Africa will host the matches. CSA will be spending million of dollars to bring improvement in grounds. Below is the list of 11 internationally-accredited venues:

  • Paarl (Boland Park)
  • East London (Buffalo Park)
  • Kimberley (Diamond Oval)
  • Durban (Kingsmead)
  • Bloemfontein (Mangaung Oval)
  • Cape Town (Newlands)
  • Potchefstroom (Senwes Park)
  • Pretoria (SuperSport Park)
  • Port Elizabeth (St. George’s Park)
  • Johannesburg (Wanderers Stadium)
  • Benoni (Willowmoore Park)

T20 Global League Players

Till now Cricket South Africa revealed 16 marquee players. Eight of them are from South Africa’s international cricket team and eight are foreign players. Below is the list of marquee players:

T20 Global League Proteas Marquee Players

  • AB de Villiers
  • Faf du Plessis
  • Quinton de Kock
  • Hashim Amla
  • David Miller
  • JP Duminy
  • Imran Tahir
  • Kagiso Rabada

T20 Global League Overseers Marquee Players

  • Brendon McCullum (New Zealand)
  • Dwayne Bravo (West Indies)
  • Chris Gayle (West Indies)
  • Kieron Pollard (West Indies)
  • Kevin Pietersen (England)
  • Eoin Morgan (England)
  • Jason Roy (England)
  • Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)

More players will be selected through proper T20 global league auction process. In auction Cricket South Africa have selected 400 players from different cricket playing nations. During auction every franchise owner will bid for the player which he wants to buy.

Format of T20 Global League South Africa

Format of South Africa Global T20 League will be similar to other popular leagues. It will be a Round-robin series, which means each team has to face other participating teams. Below is the list of some big cricket league:

T20 Global League Teams Owners List


Owner: Fawad Rana


Owner: Javed Afridi


Owner: Osman Osman


Owner: Mustaq Grey

Cape Town Knight Riders

Owner: Shah Rukh Khan

Bloem City Blazers

Owner: Sushil Kumar


Owner: GMR Sports (Delhi Daredevils)

Port Elizabeth

Owner: Ajay Sethi

How to Watch T20 Global League Live

Well till now there is official broadcasters list released for T20GL by CSA but it is expected that Sky Sports HD, Super Sports and Star Sport will get the broadcasting rights. For T20 global league live streaming you can download and install Sky Sports app for Android and iOS or login to Hotstar link of Start Sports.

Now the grand stage will be set in South Africa and there will be rain of sixes. Stay tuned and keep visiting http://thet20globalleague.com to learn more about South Africa Global T20 League.

T20 Global League 2017 © 2017